My “I Don’t Feel Like Cooking Dinner” Dinner [Gluten Free, Vegan]

IMG_3072

Some days (most days?) you get home after a long day of working and working out and really have no motivation to stand over a stove after spending an inordinate amount of time chopping up ingredients. Worse still, you live alone or don’t have a S.O./bribable friend around to clean the cacophony of cutlery and cookware you’ve amassed while creating your culinary masterpiece (he who does not cook, must clean… right?). This was the case for me last night, when I arrived at home exhausted (from work), sweaty (from a killer workout at the gym), and pissed (from trying to be a good homeowner by mowing my grass before it got too tall (like last time)… only to find that my lawn mower pooped out on me after only 2 minutes). With a sizable mound of laundry on my bed waiting to be folded, eyes that could barely stay open at half-mast, and a desire to do nothing but collapse on my couch/bed/whatever soft surface I encountered first, I was determined to prepare (not cook) a quick, easy, yet healthy and nutritionally complete dinner. Here’s what I concocted:

– Schar GF multigrain bread with Justin’s Honey Almond Butter and one sliced banana

– Carrot chips with Hope Foods’s Organic Garlic Lentil Dip

– Cubed watermelon and one chopped peach

– Dessert (not pictured): one GF Vegan Schar Honey Gram (45 calories)

With bananas, peaches, watermelon, and carrots, this dinner is obviously very fruit and veggie heavy… just how I like it. I got some nice complex carbohydrates from the GF multigrain bread and enough protein to replenish my fatigued muscles from the almond butter and lentils, which are also a good source of fiber. This no-cook dinner was incredibly satisfying and delicious. The combination of bananas, nut butter, and bread is probably one of my favorites, and this blend was further ignited by the hints of honey in the Justin’s Honey Almond Butter. I love these carrot chips; I’ve always been a fan of baby carrots, but these chips have a great texture and crunch and a larger surface area to encourage dipping. Overall, I was very pleased with this meal- it was quick, easy, delicious, healthy, and required only minimal cleanup (a plate and a knife? I can handle that). Meals like this are proof that there is never an excuse to “cheat” or eat unhealthy- even just for one meal. No matter how pressed for time or tired you are, there is always a healthy solution out there, you just have to you have the strength, determination, and creativity to find it. Thankfully, you have me to help you along the way 🙂

❤ Nika

Leave a Reply

