WIAW: Vegan Brown Rice Sushi and Spring Roll

Gluten Free Vegan Brown Rice Veggie Sushi and Spring Roll

What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)

I picked up this gluten free, vegan sushi tray at Sushi Express inside the Good Foods Co Op. This vegan sushi roll is made with brown rice, which is higher in fiber yet lower on the glycemic index as compared to white rice, wrapped around avocado, carrot, and cucumber. This meal also came with a gluten free, vegan spring roll: vegetables wrapped in rice paper and served with a plum sauce. While this tray came with soy sauce, I brought my own tamari sauce to work because regular soy sauce contains gluten (caution!). This meal was delicious and filling. I love sushi- it’s so light yet satisfying. Whenever I eat sushi, I get this lovely satisfied feeling without the heavy fullness associated with most meals. Plus it’s just so fun to eat! It’s like a little meal in a bite! I forgot chopsticks, so I had to eat this sushi with a fork, which is the first time I’ve ever done that. However, I think using chopsticks is, by far, the best method of eating sushi. Even if you’re not a master of the stix, you should give it a shot! It’s the perfect vehicle for getting those delicious rolls of heaven into your mouth while keeping the rice and nori roll intact.

Further, sushi is not only for fish lovers! If the thought of raw fish scares you or if you’re a vegan or vegetarian, there are still plenty of options for you! Which is hard to say for most restaurants or types of cuisine. I enjoy some fish in my sushi, but vegetable rolls are probably my favorite. Plus, you don’t have to feel as squeamish about raw fish and your sushi will keep better (if you’re buying trays like this). Lastly, this tray was about $5.75, which is cheaper than any meal you can find at a sit-down restaurant and far healthier than anything you could find in a chain restaurant or fast food joint.

I loved this lunch, especially paired with a cup of green tea. I will definitely start buying a tray or two of this sushi whenever I stop into the Co Op because they make perfect work lunches!

Leave a Reply

