Turkey Burgers on Gluten Free Buns (Gluten Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free)

Turkey Burger on GF BunI made these tasty little mamacitas the other night from scratch. There’s something about a homemade turkey burger that really hits the spot. My recipe for turkey burgers is simple yet delicious; All you’ll need is some organic ground turkey, red pepper, onion, gluten free panko breadcrumbs, salt and pepper. I incorporate these ingredients together by hand in a large mixing bowl, form them into hockey puck sized patties, and drop the patties into a skillet with olive oil over medium-high heat. I typically cook them 8-10 minutes per side, flipping once.

Turkey Burger on GF Bun

I served these scrumptious turkey patties on a gluten free vegan bun… ohmygosh. I can’t even tell you the last time I had a bun… or any bread for that matter. Bread that is gluten free and vegan is quite hard to find, as most of your typical GF brand breads contain egg (grrr). So, as of recently, the only bread-like products I’ve had have been gluten free wraps that never keep their form and break instantly when you try to roll them and GF vegan waffles. However, I discovered a treasure during my last trip to the Good Foods Co-Op: Schar GF Classic White Rolls…dr_schar_white_rolls

Cue the heavenly music, because these babies were like a shimmering pot of gold at the end of the aisle. Additionally, I purchased some of their multigrain bread, but they also have baguettes (omg), sandwich rolls, ciabatta, deli style bread, and BAGELS. I didn’t see any of the bagels (with flavors such as cinnamon raisin, mmm) at the Co-Op, but I’ll have to take a closer look in the frozen section, because I definitely need to try those. As far as taste, these buns (or “rolls” as Schar calls them) are incredibly delicious and the closest thing I’ve tasted to the “real thing.” I lightly toasted the buns before topping them with my turkey burgers; they’re a little hard to fit into the toaster, but if I lightly flatten the pre-cut rolls with my hand, they’ll glide into my toaster like Cinderella’s slipper.

Turkey Burger on GF Bun

And what would a turkey burger be without some toppings? So I sliced some fresh avocado (can’t go wrong with that green goddess!), sprinkled a pinch of Daiya Pepperjack Cheese, and drizzled some organic ketchup on top. I served this handheld delight with some steamed broccoli and some Kettle cooked BBQ chips to complete the summer grill out ambiance.

Turkey Burger on GF Bun

The burger was melt in your mouth delicious and the gluten free bun was better than the real thing- tasted delicious and actually held its shape without crumbling into a gluten free mess. The avocado was the perfect accent to the savory turkey burger, and the organic ketchup added a lovely bite of acidity to the meal. I could have done without the cheese, even though there was so little on there that I could barely taste it. I used to be a complete cheese addict and cheese snob, but now, especially when it comes to fake cheese, I’m mainly like “meh, no thanks.” Cheese, real, fake, or otherwise, is cool, but do you really need it? Nah. What you need are fruits, vegetables, lean proteins, and whole grains… just sayin’. Either way, regardless of your opinion on cheese or your favorite toppings, try out these homemade turkey burgers and go find some Schar bread- you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

