Mango Lime Guacamole Recipe (Gluten-Free, Vegan)

Mango Lime Guacamole

Sometimes the best creations come from a simple spark, a spur of the moment thought that ignites into creation. Quite often I enter the kitchen with no real plan, like an artist approaching an easel with no image in mind. I’ll stop, take a deep breath, and look out upon all the ingredients at my disposal- fruits and veggies poised like nature’s vibrant paints. Last night, I scanned the fruit bowl on my counter and spotted avocados and mangos that needed to be eaten quickly before the damn gnats creep in and take over. Hmm, avocados… well, guacamole, obvi. I love guacamole… Maybe I’ll do a whole Mexican theme tonight. But what about the mangos? I love mango salsa.. but don’t have any tomatoes. What about… mango guacamole? I consulted my fellow guacamole-loving friend, who was doubtful and, at best, ambivalent of this combination. I just nodded my head saying, no, no trust me on this. This is legit, I think this exists. Spoiler alert: it does exist, and it’s delicious.

Mango Lime Guacamole

Two avocados halved with the seed removed. I’ve found that the best way to remove avocados from their pesky shell and pit is to cut them straight down longitudinally (top to bottom) until you hit the pit. Next, twist the two halves until they separate, and one half will contain the pit. Pop the pit out. Lastly, if your avocado is ripe (like mine were), you can just peel off the skin, which is nice because you don’t have to deal with any fancy knife work.

Mango Lime Guacamole

Peppers and onion and avocados, oh my. I love to take pictures of my guacamole (or whatever dish I’m making) before I mash up all the ingredients because you can really see all the beautiful, vibrant colors.

Mango Lime Guacamole

 

Ingredients 
2 ripe avocados
1 ripe mango
⅓ cup diced red pepper
¼ cup diced onion
1 tbsp diced Anaheim pepper
Juice of ¼ lime
1 tbsp fresh cilantro leaves
Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

1. Cut two ripe avocado and remove the seed. Add to bowl.
2. Dice ⅓ cup red pepper, ¼ cup onion, and 1 tbsp of Anaheim pepper and add to avocado.
3. Season with desired amount of salt and pepper.
4. Using a fork, mash the avocado and mix in the peppers.
5. Skin, slice, and dice one ripe mango. Add to the guacamole.
5. Add your tablespoon of cilantro and squeeze ¼ of fresh lime over the guacamole. Mix again to incorporate the mango, cilantro, and lime.
6. Serve with tortilla chips, gluten free crackers, raw veggies, or as a compliment to your entrée!

Leave a Reply

