WIAW: Fajita Chicken and Veggies Served Over Brown Rice and Quinoa (Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Egg Free)

Fajita Chicken and Veggies Over Brown Rice and Quinoa

This dish was really simple, but my friend and I enjoyed it quite a bit! I was planning on cooking dinner and thus brought over an assortment of possibilities (I never travel light, clearly). We had already made some homemade guacamole to serve with our chips and salsa, so I decided to carry on the Mexican cuisine theme. I cut up some chicken breasts and sautéed them in olive oil. Once the chicken was cooked, I added a can of roasted tomatoes and half a packet of fajita seasoning (if you buy the pre-made seasoning packets, be sure to get ones that don’t contain wheat!). While the chicken and tomatoes simmered, I sautéed some fresh broccoli, red pepper, green chili pepper, and red onion in some olive oil and added it to the chicken and tomato fajitas. After simmering the entire fajita concoction for several minutes, I served it on top of a bed of brown rice and quinoa and squeezed some fresh lime over the entire thing.

This take on fajitas was simple, easy, yet delicious! I had intended on serving as true fajitas (with tortillas and rice on the side), but I had forgotten to pack my tortillas (I said I never travel light, I never said that it was effective!). Either way, this was quite the tasty and satisfying dish. The chicken and vegetables really ignite with the fajita seasoning, and the splash of fresh lime juice really brings out the taste profile of the dish. I’ve recently become quite addicted to topping things with a splash of freshly squeezed lime juice, it makes everything taste so light, summery, and fresh! ¡Buen apetito!

Leave a Reply

