Unchunky Monkey Treats: Gluten Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Bites

Gluten Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Bites

As I’ve discussed in previous posts, I have more of a crunchy snack tooth than a sweet tooth. However, my lack of sweet tooth has an exception- cold or frozen fruit. Smoothies? Love. Fruit pops? Love. Frozen grapes? Love. If I do eat dessert, it’s one of the preceding options. However, I know that many people out there go choco-crazy for some of that rich brown nectar of the sugar gods. Now, it’s not that I don’t like chocolate, I just don’t go bananas for it. Yet, there are certain combinations of chocolate that will make my mouth water: chocolate and banana, chocolate and strawberries…. noticing a trend? Even though I love chocolate with these two fruits, I hate it with other berries and fruits. Pomegranate? Nope. Cherries? Nope. Oranges? Gag. I haven’t quite figured out the distinction there… Maybe it’s tart, citrusy fruits that my palate doesn’t enjoy with chocolate.

Okay, enough of my random and specifically picky personal preferences. I wanted to create a chocolatey treat that I (and hopefully you!) would enjoy that was healthy (or as healthy as dessert can be), gluten free, vegan, and guilt free. Thus, today I present: Chocolate Banana Bites! So you can enjoy dessert without being a chunky monkey!

Ingredients

Vegan Chocolate Chips

1 ripe banana
Vegan chocolate chips
Toppings of choice: walnuts, shredded coconut

Directions 

1. Slice up ripe banana.

Gluten Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Bites Gluten Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Bites

2. Place vegan chocolate chips into a microwave safe bowl and microwave at 15 second intervals until melted, stirring after every 15 seconds. You can also use the double broiler method, which will likely produce a prettier chocolate coating. But uh, I was feeling lazy, and they taste the same soooo….

Gluten Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Bites

3. Place a slice of banana into the melted chocolate and coat with a spoon.

4. Place chocolate covered on a piece of foil or wax paper.

Gluten Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Bites

5. Coat with desired toppings.

6. Put back into the freezer for at least two hours.


I just think these little guys are adorable… plus they’re incredibly delicious! I’ve actually never had a chocolate covered frozen banana, so this was a new experience for me. I used frozen banana slices since I already had some in my freezer and had no fresh bananas. I think that’s the reason my chocolate didn’t really “coat” the slices easily (that and my chocolate wasn’t very well melted). Oh well, I like the little peek of the banana, makes it look like a multilayer dessert! The frozen banana makes for a nice sorbet texture and consistency while the chocolate adds that rich, savory mouthfeel with a little crunch! I will definitely be making more of these in the future and experimenting with other toppings!

3 thoughts on “Unchunky Monkey Treats: Gluten Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Bites

Leave a Reply

