Tofu Scramble Wrap: A Gluten Free Vegan Breakfast

Gluten Free Vegan Tofu Scramble Wrap

I’ve been eating gluten-free, dairy-free, and egg-free for three years and mammal-free for 8 years, and I can’t say I miss any of it (well, maybe real pizza… and bread that actually stays in one piece). I have never been a big fan of eggs, even when I ate them. Ever since I saw an episode of Fear Factor in which they had to consume raw goose eggs (gag), I have never been able to eat eggs without being just a smidge grossed out. I mean…. it’s a chicken embryo. Furthermore, I jokingly referred to yogurt as “fermented cow lactate” the other day, but… that’s no joke. Milk is just a cow’s bodily fluid… Okay, I’m grossing myself out now too. Now that I’ve completely put you off of animal products for the day, let’s have a gluten-free vegan breakfast! See how that worked out? It’s almost like I planned it.

Even though I don’t miss eggs, I do miss what they offer to a breakfast- a breakfast sandwich filling, a vehicle for veggies in a scramble… But, never fear, this tofu scramble wrap will have you saying “eggs, schmeggs” with it’s flavorful, airy texture.

Ingredients:
1 Inch Slice Firm Tofu
1/8 Cup Red Pepper
1/8 Cup Red Onion
¼ cup Pepperjack Daiya cheese
Corn tortilla
Salt and pepper
Paprika
Garlic Onion Powder

Directions:

Gluten Free Vegan Tofu Scramble Wrap1. Cut up 1/8 cup of red pepper and 1/8 cup of red onion. Add to a large skillet coated with olive oil and sauté on medium-high heat.

2. Cut a 1 inch slice of firm tofu and crumble it into the skillet with the peppers and onions.Sprinkle the cheese on top and fold in.

3. Season the scramble with salt, pepper, garlic onion powder, and paprika (for color).

Food for Life Sprouted Corn Tortillas (GF Vegan)4. Sautée until the peppers and onions begin to caramelize and the tofu has reached an airy texture. This will take less than 10 minutes.

5. Place the corn tortilla between damp paper towels and microwave for 5 seconds.

Gluten Free Vegan Tofu Scramble Wrap6. Add the tofu scramble to your tortilla to make your wrap. Garnish with fruit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tofu Scramble Wrap: A Gluten Free Vegan Breakfast

Leave a Reply

