What’s For Lunch Today?

Fiesta Chicken Salad and Gazpacho Soup

What a week! I’m so glad it’s Friday, but all I want to do when I get off work is sleep! I’ve had a lot going on this week, indicated not only by my levels of fatigue, but also by my uncharacteristic forgetfulness. Case in point: I always pack my gym clothes in a bag before I leave for work and stick them in my car so I can go straight to the gym after work. I’ve been doing this for years, as it is a tradition I began in college (I lived off campus for 2.5 years, so I brought all my stuff with me so I didn’t have to go back home). In essence, I’m very experienced at packing a gym bag. I mean, really, it’s not that difficult. Sports bra. Top. Shorts. Socks. Shoes. Boom- 4 items. Yet, this week I was struggling with that. Tuesday, I forgot both shoes and socks! Luckily I had a rogue pair of Asics hiding out in the trunk of my car, so I went sans socks (gasp). As if that wasn’t bad enough, yesterday I forgot my sports bra for my TRX class. Lacking the time to run home and unwilling to skip class, I threw caution to the wind and wore my normal bra (double gasp, I know, I’m a disgrace). TL;DR I’ve been a hot mess this week and if I wasn’t so tired, I’d be bouncing off the walls from excitement over the arrival of the weekend.

Fiesta Chicken SaladToday I packed a nice, light, and summery lunch for work. I had what I’m calling a “Fiesta Chicken Salad,” homemade gazpacho soup, and an organic pink lady apple. I prepped the ingredients for the salad last night. It’s a bed of mixed greens and lettuce topped with homegrown cucumbers, a sautéed medley of red peppers, onion, and homegrown peppers, and a sautéed fiesta chicken breast. I marinated the chicken breast in Rowdy Kitty Rub, salt, and pepper and sautéed in olive oil until cooked through. Afterwards, I sliced the chicken breast into strips, placed them on the bed of greens, and drizzled the whole thing with a splash of fresh squeezed lime juice. I used my favorite salad dressing to top it all off- Annie’s Chile Lime dressing! I love the flavors of this salad, it really entices and pleases the palate with flavor and crunch in every bite. I’ve been fortunate enough to be gifted some homegrown garden peppers and cucumbers, and they were delectable additions to this salad. I don’t have the biggest tolerance for spicy things, so I sautéed the red bell pepper and the green, yellow, and red garden peppers in some olive oil with the chicken breast to tame the spice down a notch. The chicken was excellently seasoned and garnered an additional taste profile and complexity by sautéing alongside the peppers. The salad was really taken to “fiesta” level by the freshly squeezed lime juice, which brought out the savory tenderness of the chicken, the bite of the peppers, and the crispness of the lettuce and cucumbers.

Gazpacho SoupIn addition to my salad, I also had a bowl of my mom’s homemade gazpacho. I really like the cool, crisp, and slightly spicy flavor of this gazpacho. The tomatoes, cucumbers, and other ingredients are finely diced but still substantial enough to add some crunch and great texture to this perfect summer soup. The soup is rich with herbs and full-bodied flavor accented by a hint of spice. A little heat to balance out its cool temperature! As you may know, gazpacho is served chilled, which makes it an excellent choice for hot summer days. However, my lab is unfortunately sub-zero and leaves me shivering by lunch… so perhaps I should have opted for a hot soup instead!

Have a great weekend! I have a special summer workout planned for you all tomorrow, so stay tuned 🙂

2 thoughts on “What’s For Lunch Today?

Leave a Reply

