Honey Mustard Chicken with Avocado

Honey Mustard Chicken with Avocado

A couple weeks ago, my mom gave me a bottle of Brianna’s Honey Mustard dressing. I was intrigued by the dressing’s claim that it went perfectly on fresh avocados. Honey mustard and avocado? Interesting. I would have never considered such a combination; thus, I became determined to create a recipe that included this intriguing duo.

Brianna's Honey Mustard

After ODing on honey mustard religiously for most of my childhood and teenage years, I actually haven’t had many encounters with honey mustard over the past several years. Back in the day, chicken tenders and honey mustard was my shit- I ate that dish at almost every restaurant, and it was always my go-to option. You can ask any of my childhood friends, chicken tenders and I were inseparable. Ugh. Thankfully, times have changed. Now I have created a healthier, grown up version of chicken and honey mustard. Today I bring you a recipe for honey mustard chicken with avocado, served with grilled asparagus and sesame rice.

Honey Mustard Chicken with Avocado

Ingredients: Organic chicken breast
Fresh avocado
Brianna’s Honey Mustard Dressing
Salt and Pepper

Directions:

  1. Season chicken breast with salt and pepper and add to skillet coated with extra virgin olive oil on medium high heat.
  2. Cook about 6 minutes each side until chicken is almost cooked through.
  3. Baste sautéed breasts with Brianna’s Honey Mustard dressing. Continue to simmer in the honey mustard for 2 minutes each side.
  4. Remove from heat and top with sliced fresh avocado.
  5. Serve with sautéed asparagus with red and yellow bell peppers and red onion and sesame rice (bought pre-made from the Good Food’s Co-Op).

I really enjoyed this dish. I won’t lie, I was a little hesitant about the honey mustard and avocado suggestion, but they came together quite nicely with the sautéed chicken breast. The sautéd asparagus side is a classic side of mine- quick, simple, delicious, healthy. The sesame rice was something I picked up from the salad bar at the Good Food’s Co-Op, and it’s gluten free and vegan. This honey mustard chicken has inspired me to create another recipe: a healthy remake of my former addiction, crispy chicken tenders with honey mustard dipping sauce. I already have a game plan for this recipe, so I look forward to sharing another healthy remake of an unhealthy favorite! Oh, and taste testing is pretty fun for me too 😉

Leave a Reply

