How Do You Like Them Apples?

Diva Apples

Organic Diva apples, a match made in heaven. Naturally, I had to buy some to feed my inner diva.

Diva Emoji

Pretty sure this Emoji was made for me

I am definitely an apple diva, an apple addict, and a bit of an apple snob. Apples are, by far, my favorite fruit and probably my favorite food as well. I eat an apple every day. Seriously. Maybe the old adage is true, and maybe that’s why I’m able to stay healthy and away from the doctor. Shh don’t tell anyone my secret. I’ve seen these Diva apples before in the Co-Op, and while the name was what initially drew me to them, the taste had me coming back for more. Similar in taste and texture to my holy grail apple, the Gala apple, the Diva is a great addition to your fruit bowl. Today, I thought I would share my top three apple picks.


Diva Apple

Diva Apple

As Yoncé would say, a diva is a female version of a hustla, and this apple is surely hustlin’ in the taste department. Described as “crisp, juicy, and extra sweet,” the Diva is a newcomer from New Zealand. Sweet like a Gala, but with an extra crunch. I find it to be quite comparable to my all time favorite, the Gala apple.


Gala Apple

Gala Apple

The apple so nice, I named my puppy after it. Seriously. I am addicted to Gala apples, and I eat one every day (and yes, I do keep the doctor away, thanks for asking). Sweet, firm, crisp, and mild, the Gala is the perfect everyday apple and ranks #2 as the most popular apple after the Red Delicious, which is, in my opinion, nasty. It’s so mealy, grainy, and soft. Ugh. I like some crunchy, crispy sweetness in my apples!

Gala outside Gala pictue Gala Kiss

I like Gala apples, yes ma’am! 
I do! I like them, Nika-I-am! 
And I would eat them in a boat! 
And I would eat them with a goat… 
And I will eat them in the rain. 
And in the dark. And on a train. 
And in a car. And in a tree.  
So I will eat them in a box. 
And I will eat them with a fox. 
And I will eat them in a house. 
And I will eat them with a mouse. 
And I will eat them here and there. 
Say! I will eat them ANYWHERE! 


Pink Lady

Pink Lady

Also known as Cripps Pink, the Pink Lady is by far the crunchiest and sweetest apple. These are probably the most expensive of the bunch, but they are a nice treat in addition to my standard Galas. Seriously, this apple is so sweet and deliciously tart and tangy, it’s like eating candy. If Galas are my favorite apple, the Pink Lady ranks a close second. The Pink Lady is easy to identify, as it is more of a bright, rosy pink with yellow as compared to the tradition red/yellow mottle of the Gala.


What’s your favorite fruit? Do you eat apples regularly? (Hint: your answer should be yes). Think about not only incorporating new fruits and vegetables into your diet, but also new varieties. After all, variety is the spice of life!

One thought on “How Do You Like Them Apples?

  1. Pingback: Whole Foods Grocery Haul and Reviews | Eat. Tone. Love.

Leave a Reply

