Christmas in June

Gym PackagesWhen it rains, it pours. This has certainly been a stressful and frustrating week. With three exams on the docket, I knew this week would have some hiccups, but sometimes when it rains, it pours, and everything else goes awry. An indication of how bad yesterday was? I skipped the gym. Yes, please pause for audible gasps. Not only did I need time to study for my 2.5 hour national certification exam today (eee wish me luck), but I knew I had some packages waiting on my porch. After a day like yesterday, sometimes knowing that you’ve sent yourself some “presents” in the mail can be the only thing to help you continue to crawl your way through all the stress, frustration, conflict, and drama of the day. Does anyone else miss getting mail? I mean good mail- actual letters, things from people you know, something other than junk and weekly circulars that are instantaneously dropped into the recycling. For me, getting packages in the mail is like Christmas, especially after a stressful day. I eagerly track my packages online, and as soon as they hit Lexington, I start buzzing like a kid on Christmas Eve. Yesterday’s arrival brought a particular excitement because it was one of my favorite things: athletic apparel. So I have some shoes, some tops, and some bottoms from Nike (Of course I’m a Nike girl. Nike/Nika, it was meant to be) and Dicks Sporting Goods to share and review for you. I had to take a peek and try them on, but I will share my goodies with you all later. Some products are holy grail items, items that I already know I love and can’t live without, but I just feel compelled to expand my color collection. Other items were new to me, some were hits and others were misses. A good friend of mine recently purchased some new workout apparel and shoes, so hopefully I can persuade him to give some reviews for the men out there too. So don’t worry, there will be something for everyone! I’ll share all of my insight with you to help you have the fiercest workout outfits this summer, because a fierce workout is built upon a fierce attitude, a fierce outfit, and a fierce playlist. Look good, feel good, train good.

Here’s to hoping that today will bring clearer skies for all of us. Getting that huge test of my mind, a third attempt at RNA extraction from adipose tissue (EF tissue, I’m shaking my fist at you, but third time’s a charm, right? Right?), a TRX class, and some attempts at conflict resolution will hopefully brighten my day. If not, just remember that tomorrow is Friday, and the weekend is almost here!

❤ Nika

 

Leave a Reply

