Back to the Basics: Vegan Dinner

IMG_0982

Amidst work and studying for finals, I came home from an intense workout in exhausted cavewomen mode: “Me hungry. Want food. Need protein. No cook.” Staring into my pantry, I thought “what’s easier than the classic vegan beans and rice?” So I threw a can of beans and a can of fire roasted tomatoes into a pot on a low simmer, seasoned with some chili powder, paprika, garlic, and salt and pepper, and hopped into the shower. Ten minutes later I was squeaky clean and my house was fragrant with simmering spices. I threw a bag of brown rice and quinoa into the microwave (rice… ain’t nobody got time for that during finals week) and topped it with my savory bean and tomato stew. I paired this bowl with one of my all-fruit smoothies from the other night and a gluten free vegan cornbread muffin (thanks mom!).  I intentionally made enough to pack the left overs for lunch, therefore knocking two meals off my to do list with enough time to spare to watch the latest episode of Game of Thrones (priorities, right?) and to study enough to get an A on my final today!

I’m going grocery shopping tonight, so I’ll have plenty of new goodies to blog about. I have some posts planned on comparing products, reviewing GF and vegan brands, my favorite grocery items, and new recipes. Let me know if you have any requests for posts! From nutrition to fitness to random musings, I’m always open to your ideas! Hey, you gotta give the people what they want… Except fast food. Well, maybe Chipotle.

Stay full, stay fit, stay happy!

Leave a Reply

