Grilled Chicken and Pepper Salad: A Lesson in Bulk Cooking

Mixed greens and spinach with grilled chicken, red peppers, and red onion. Topped with Annie's Chile Lime dressing.

Spinach and Mixed Green Salad with grilled chicken, red peppers, and onion topped with Chile Lime dressing


Hi everyone! I got busy in the kitchen last night… probably because I was avoiding studying for finals, but shhhh no one has to know. I prepared this delicious salad in duplicate (one serving for dinner, one serving for lunch tomorrow). I also made some all-fruit protein smoothies with my cocktail of frozen fruit and Plant Fusion protein powder. My measurements for smoothies are mainly arbitrary and by eye, but last night’s mixture ended up producing four servings, which is perfect- one for dinner, one for breakfast the following day, and two extra that I’ll freeze and eat subsequently. Keep reading for the recipe for the salad and beaucoup pictures!

 Needs: Chicken breast, red pepper, red onion, spinach and salad greens, Annie’s Chile Lime dressing (or your choice of dressing), and olive oil for cooking.

Prep: 

  1. Slice red pepper and onion and add to skillet with olive oil on medium heat.
  2. Season chicken as desired and add to same skillet as peppers.
  3. While toppings are cooking, wash and cut spinach and salad greens.
  4. Once chicken has finished cooking (approximately 6 minutes each side), remove from heat and add to salad greens. Top with desired dressing. Eat!
Image

Sliced red peppers

Chicken and peppers cooking in olive oil

Naked Greens

Mixed greens and spinach with grilled chicken, red peppers, and red onion. Topped with Annie's Chile Lime dressing.

Mixed greens and spinach with grilled chicken, red peppers, and red onion. Topped with Annie’s Chile Lime dressing.

Cooking dinner and lunch in one session!

Cooking dinner and lunch in one session!

Salad packed and ready!

Salad packed and ready!

Fruit ready to blend in my beloved Ninja

All fruit smoothie with Plant Fusion protein.

All fruit smoothie with Plant Fusion protein.

 


As you will continue to see with my dinners, I often make way more than I can eat. This is mainly a byproduct of still being acclimated to cooking for two people, but it has worked in my favor as it leads to delicious lunches the next day. If I don’t prep my lunch the night before, I inevitably end up grabbing some random combination of items or a frozen meal in the morning as I run out the door. I’ll soon do a post on some frozen meals that I like, because cooking for every meal isn’t practical sometimes. Regardless of my time or energy level, I always bring my own lunch to work. I did this throughout school- even in college when I lived on campus and off-campus. Preparing your own meals is the key to looking and feeling fabulous. Hands down the biggest improvement you can make in your diet!

Leave a Reply

