Crispy Orange Roughy Recipe

Happy Monday everyone, hopefully you all had a good (and exercise-filled!) weekend to power you through this week. This is finals week for me (as it may be for others of you out there), so you might hear from me less this week. Unless I decide to procrastinate studying by blogging… Like I am right now… Oops. Let me know if you were successful in being weekend workout warriors! It’s tough to work out on the weekends, at least for me, so celebrate your accomplishments even if you had just one or two sweat sessions! On my side, I did Workout 3 from my Weekend Workout Warrior post on Friday. Saturday I got outside to enjoy the weather and ran for 30 minutes. Lastly, on Sunday, I hit the gym for a quick pre-dinner session of 10 minutes of elliptical followed by the strength portion of Workout 1

Image

Last night for dinner I made one of my new favorite recipes. I love chicken, but I eat a lot of it as my main source of protein, so it’s nice to change it up with some fish. Naturally, with my diet, fried foods are out of the question, but this recipe mimics the crispy crunchy coating of fried fish while still being healthy, dairy-free, egg-free, and gluten-free. 

Pan Fried Crispy Orange Roughy

Needs: Wild caught orange roughy (frozen works and is easiest), e.v.o.o. (extra virgin olive oil), corn flour, your choice of fish seasoning, salt, and pepper. 

Prep:

  1. Thaw fish and rinse with water. Let dry slightly before rolling in mixture of corn flour, salt, pepper, and choice of seasoning (I used a fish seasoning with paprika and garlic). 
  2. Place “battered” fish into medium skillet with olive oil on medium heat. 
  3. Cook until crispy golden brown on both sides, usually 5-6 minutes per side depending on fillet size and temperature.
  4. Enjoy!

Sides: I accompanied this meal with some grilled asparagus and brown rice with quinoa. The asparagus is pretty simple- wash bunch of organic asparagus, cut off the tough bottom portion of the stalk, season with salt and pepper, and cook on medium-high in large skillet with chopped red onion and red pepper. 

I try to make my recipes simple and quick, as those two elements are key to consistent healthy eating. While recipes involving 15 different types of fresh produce are delicious and ideal, most people rarely have time to 1. plan ahead, 2. purchase the 5+ items they don’t have on hand at home, 3. chop everything up (seriously, my least favorite part), 4. patiently cook everything while starving from your workout and long day, and 5. clean up the huge mess you’ve made. Some of my food may not be “fancy,” but it’s simple, healthy, relatively quick, and delicious

Leave a Reply

